Tick tock, an important lesson I had in time…

My friend just shared this blog post with me.
I read it and I cried.
I cried tears of sadness. Sadness for those moments I have lost.
Sadness because I am not the relaxed mum I planned to be.
My tears were for all of those times that I let life stresses change me for the worst. Especially lately.
This is a must read post for all; not just those of us who have kids. It is a raw, eye opening and at times sad read.

Marty is the relaxed easy going one in our relationship and I am the ‘must do it now’ one. This has been something that once caused great frustration between us. He taught me through his calm patience that I NEED to calm down, relax and take my time. Life is to be enjoyed and not rushed through.
I have come a very long way and reading this makes me so very glad and grateful that he taught me this years ago.

I find myself watching that clock sometimes when it comes to the boys. Pushing for things to happen NOW! Just last night I looked at the time and realised that I had been trying to get the boys into bed for an hour and was getting no where. I could feel the frustration build, bigger and bigger and bigger. I managed to take a deep breath and look at my boys. Their faces were full of smiles reflecting the cheeky happiness they were feeling while they were interacting with their dad. I realised that if I rushed them I was stealing this moment. This truly special and happy moment.

I am constantly working on being a better person, a better mum and a better partner.
Somedays it is harder than others, to just stay calm and relax. Sometimes I slip up and fall into that old trap.
I don’t want to be that person.
I don’t want to miss a moment or have regrets.

So from one ‘ticking clock’ mum, partner, daughter and friend to another I highly recommend reading this.

http://www.handsfreemama.com/2013/10/07/taking-off-the-ticking-clock/

Leave a comment