Breakfast Bread

My gorgeous friend Kate recommended this yummy breakfast bread to me after she made it for her husband on Father’s Day. So on Sunday I decided to make it for my family. Once again I didn’t have all the ingredients the recipe called for. I did have the ingredients needed to make the base and some leftover bacon, tomato, fresh basil, mushrooms and cheddar cheese. 

Ingredients needed for the base (You can find the full recipe by Donna Hay here)

  • 1¼ teaspoons dry yeast
  • 1 teaspoon caster (superfine) sugar
  • ⅔ cup (160ml) warm water
  • 1½ cups (225g) 00 flour+, plus extra, for dusting (I used 1/2 cup wholemeal flour & a cup of plain flour)
  • 1 teaspoon table salt
  • ½ tablespoon olive oil, plus extra, for drizzling

I turned my oven to 220 deg C. Then following the directions I mixed the yeast, caster sugar and warm water in a bowl and placed them on our coffee machines the mug warmer for 5 mins.
Using my new food processor and the dough blade I mixed the flour, salt, olive oil and yeast mix together to make the bread base. Once it was combined I turned it out onto a lightly floured chopping board and kneaded it for 5 mins until it was smooth and elastic. Put it in a glass mixing bowl, covered it with a clean tea towel and placed it on the coffee machine mug warmer (my warm place) for 20 minutes.

Image

While it was doing its thing I washed and dried the food processor bowl and lined a pizza tray with baking paper. Chopped up leftover bacon, tomato, fresh basil and mushrooms. I also used this time and my food processor to quickly shred the cheddar cheese. 

Once the dough was ready I flattened it to size and rolled up the edges. If you don’t have a baking dish like Donna Hay recommends you will have to roll the edges so the egg doesn’t spill off the bread. 

Then I cracked 2 eggs onto the base, carefully spread the toppings evenly over it and then placed it in the oven for 16 minutes (Donna Hay recommended 12-14 but it took 16 for ours to golden up.

Image
Please excuse the phone photos.

Everyone loved this breakfast treat. Next time I think I might add some herbs to the bread base.

Leave a Reply

