Bad food choices

Okay so today I feel I should be honest.

I have been neglecting my health and making some poor health choices in the name of ‘budget shopping’. I think that while I am being honest this is a pretty lame excuse and I can do better. 

I found myself filling out a health form today and it made me really think and reflect. It was actually quite confronting to answer the form truthfully. Writing out the answers really opened my eyes. Last year I made some solid changes to my eating habits and lost 7kgs without exercising. Since then I have put 3kgs back on and today I realised why. These few kilos didn’t magically appear. They weren’t created just through sneaky cheat eating but through pure laziness. What started out as ‘budget food shopping’ became an excuse to be lazy. 

In the morning when I wake tired, before my morning coffee kicks in, the kids are crying and demanding attention it is much easier to turn to toast. The kids love toast so while I am preparing it for them I don’t even think about what I should be having, I just make a couple of extra slices for me.

SO part of my health challenge for this month is NOT to skip breakfast or to have toast. I need to take responsibility, make changes to see results. Since breakfast is the first and some say the MOST important meal of the day I will start with it.

I think I will have to try some of these Paleo breakfast ideas and maybe go back to some breakfast smoothies. I loved the Michelle Bridges breakfast smoothie 🙂

Cheers D. 

7 thoughts on “Bad food choices

  1. Kathryn says:

    That’s awesome! Was that from Janes form that made you have a re think?

    My fav breaky is oats with berries plus scrambled eggs all in the microwave. although oats aren’t technically Paleo I think I’m still doing ok! I eat a lot so 7 egg whites and 1 egg yolk in the microwave and there is a quick breaky nom nom!

    Good going hon! 💪😄

    • Danni says:

      It sure was, Lovely.
      While toast isn’t the worst thing in the world I just realised that 2 slices of toast for breakfast and 2 slices of bread for lunch means I am consuming 4 slices of bread and that is a substantial amount of carbs. Bread isn’t exactly full of wonderful nutritious goodness. It just fills me and makes me feel sluggish.
      I’m thinking I will swap to more nutritious options.

      I love oats and berries too. 🙂

  2. Roxanne says:

    I was the same Danni now I make my own Granola, LOVE it. But my main breakfast is oats with dates and a swirl of manuka honey.
    Have you tried green smoothies yet? I’m addicted and have noticed my iron levels are higher 🙂

    • Danni says:

      🙂 I would seriously love to know how you make your own granola.

      I’ve had a green smoothie at a thermomix demo I went to and love it. Keep meaning to try it at home. Do you just use a blender for yours?

  3. Roxanne says:

    Yep just a blender, all it is; 2 cups of almond milk, handful of spinach, some chai seeds, some manuka or organic honey and a banana.

    This is one of the ones I make…
    http://www.treehugger.com/easy-vegetarian-recipes/basic-granola-recipe-quick-and-healthy-breakfasts-and-snacks-vegan.html

Leave a Reply

