When working out doesn’t really feel like working out.

Today I tried a different approach to working out and it definitely worked for me. Previously I watched like crazy at all those figures that flashed across the little cross trainer screen. I found myself struggling, wishing that that count down timer would go quicker. It became a huge mental hurdle.

Not today. Today I set the cross trainer to my desired setting then picked up my ipad, opened Kindle and started reading. Between Jake saying “watch this Mumma” over and over again and reading it wasn’t long before that timer went off and guess what! I kept powering away until I couldn’t go any further. I have no idea how long I stayed on that cross trainer but I did it. I overcame that mental hurdle and pushed through that tired feeling. 

It was an awesome feeling so I will definitely try this technique again. 🙂
Would love to hear your tips for pushing yourself.

Cheers Danni

Image

4 thoughts on “When working out doesn’t really feel like working out.

  1. Bec says:

    I’m impressed you can read whilst working out, I see people at the gym on the machines reading but I just can’t do it (but maybe cause I only go on the treadmill)!
    When I’m on the treadmill I will put the TV on a show I’ve previously recorded, and put my towel over the computer bit that shows time, speed etc so I’m not tempted to keep looking at the time.

    • Danni says:

      That would work too bec. I’d love to watch a tv show but jake hogs the tv and kids stuff is just boring. 😉 it takes a bit of concentration to read but I suppose that takes my mind off the whole exercise bit.

  2. Kathryn says:

    I pretend I’m on the dance floor hehe!

Leave a Reply

