Thank you!

Image

As I look around the house it appears I have a FEW things to be thankful for. 😉
This afternoon I want to say thank you for the pile of clean laundry waiting to be folded, the toys covering the floor and my dirty coffee mug waiting to be washed BUT my biggest thank you of all is for the NOISE.

I am saying thank you to these things because they are the things that have made me feel frustrated at least once today. This morning they jogged my memory and I am not talking of just the before children, quiet, clean house days.

It just so happens that I quite possibly have the loudest boys in the world! Today they are being quite full on, playful and very demanding. For a few moments earlier it started to grate on my nerves.

Then I remembered…
I remembered that they are young and having fun.
I remembered that they love me.
I remembered how important they are to me.
I remembered that just because I have a killer headache life doesn’t stop.
I remembered that they are only young once.
I remembered that they have needs…

They need me.
They need me to embrace their energy.
They need me to laugh at their jokes.
They need me to find joy in how cool the little things in life are.
They need me to listen to the same story, over and over again.
They need me to watch them perfect a new trick, not just one time.
They need me to ignore that pile of laundry for another day and sit down to play.
They need all of this because I MATTER to them. I am important.

My words, actions and reactions matter. They have the ability to make or break. If chosen wisely, they can foster all the wonderful attributes I wish for my boys to have.

Image

So today I had to remember to be thankful for, what could be considered by some, the bad. I had to take a big breath and remain patient. The ‘bad’ things were distracting me from what is important and made me focus on them instead of the bigger picture.
Since that moment of clarity, my day has been spent just loving my little people, soaking up their excitement, guiding their energy into positive play and just having fun; they are only young once.

I am lucky. For that I am honestly thankful for.

2 thoughts on “Thank you!

  1. Kathryn says:

    Awe that Is so well written and so lovely! You should be a writer, very talented ❤😄

Leave a Reply

