My first knitting project is complete!

Not long ago I was looking at my friend’s knitting and felt inspired to learn. I decided that I wanted to make something for another friend’s belly baby (who I call squishy).
My gorgeous friend Meg suggested that this beautiful Milo vest be my first project. Never one to shy away from a challenge I jumped on the opportunity to challenge myself and learn how to knit.
I chose to knit it for him to hopefully fit him when he is about 6 months old. It took a while to learn the basics and get the tension right. Here are my progress shots.

20120927-151949.jpg
After quite a few attempts something clicked and I just got it. At this point I had no idea how the pattern would work. It was so cool watching it come together.

20120927-152029.jpg
Learning to Bind Off. I love binding off, it is my favourite part of knitting. I love how the loops all perfectly join together in a gorgeous rounded neat edge.

20120927-152106.jpg
After binding off the arms it all started to come together.

20120927-152144.jpg
Then I got to the cable section and wasn’t sure if I should skip that part. I was nervous over being able to cable knit and whether it would suit a baby boy.
Thanks to some gorgeous friends I got up just enough courage to jump feet first into it and I was pleasantly surprised. Cable knitting wasn’t as hard as I expected it to be and was actually fun (I’ve never imagined myself as someone who would think knitting was fun).

20120927-152213.jpg
This section was quite repetitive which I found relaxing. Seeing the cable come together was very rewarding.

20120927-152300.jpg
It didn’t take long to finish that section and knit the final bind off. Then all I had to do was finish the loose ends off. Which in some places helped to make the vest stronger. Here is the detail in the arm section and below is the finished product.

20120927-152316.jpg

20120927-152331.jpg

20120927-152345.jpg
Squishy is going to look so cute in his Milo vest.

3 thoughts on “My first knitting project is complete!

  1. Bec S says:

    Awwww, so cute! You have done a great job Danni!

Leave a Reply

