Social media

As I lay here feeding my baby and checking Facebook I find myself deep in thought…

The funny thing about Facebook social media is its ability to make me happy one moment and then sad the next.

Lack of actual adult conversation can leave me feeling flat so at these times I hop on Facebook and talk to my friends, family and acquaintances. I have met so many awesome mums online and talk regularly with them on Facebook. It is so nice to know they are always around when I need them, whether it be just for a chat or for a little advice.

On the flip side I often find that I open Facebook and feel like an outsider. I contribute where I can but sometimes i can’t shake the feeling that I am on the outside looking in and intruding on everyone’s life. That I am that socially awkward person sitting in the corner, you know the kid that doesn’t fit into the cool crowd…

Inevitably I start thinking about how social media fits into society and how many teens use it. I start wondering what my boys will go through as they grow up and how it will affect their lives. Will it be a tool they can use to chat happily to their friends or will it be something that is used to torment them?

How does Facebook make you feel? Am I alone with my love/hate relationship with social media?

4 thoughts on “Social media

  1. Lisa Abejja says:

    I thought I was the only one who felt like this !!

  2. Bec says:

    Oh yes definitely love hate! I love that I get to chat to awesome people, but I hate that it’s such a time waster – and to really feel involved you have to spend so much time on it. I haven’t been on much lately and miss everyone when I’m not on, but do feel better when I go a couple of days without checking in.

    • Danni says:

      I really should do that more Bec. I have already cut back quite a bit. Might step back a little more and throw myself into doing something else.

Leave a Reply

